Movie: New Trial / 재심

Excited to finally start writing and reviewing again! It’s a long story of going on holiday + misplacing my laptop charger somewhere in my room but I’m back. And starting the review cycle with a movie by one of my favourite actors.

 Anyone who knows me personally knows that I love Kang Ha Neul to bits (I even went to his mini fanmeet when he was in town to promote Midnight Runners). He’s a cheery, kind, and genuine person but what I love most about him is his acting. The first few episodes of Scarlet Heart moved me and it was enough to make me stay on as a fan (despite the show being a bit of a mess towards the end). 

I’m digressing but point is, KHN is a great actor. So when I heard he was in this movie I was already sold. And then I read the plot summary. I was even more excited.

e76686c5d99f4df7a19880ee387c2ca2 

Plot summary: Hyun-woo, who is the sole witness to the murder of a taxi driver, is accused of committing the crime and persecuted and prosecuted. He was sentenced 10 years in prison. An opportunistic lawyer picks up the case sensing an opportunity, which leads to a struggle to reclaim justice. 

Jung Woo plays the opportunistic lawyer and wow, he has some great acting chops. There were times where I wanted to slap him, and other times where I wanted to cry along with him. No need to mention about KHN cos he was fantastic portraying a wronged individual by the State. It was great seeing him have some explosive moments, portraying feelings of frustration. 

Overall it was a pretty good film but the ending felt a bit too neat for me. It was an interesting film seeing how police corruption can really affect one’s life and it incensed me that there are individuals like that in the police force. In that sense, the film serves as a reminder that those in authority are not always necessarily right; that everyone has flaws and we need to keep them in check where we can. It was illuminating as it broadened my mind to these views.

Leave a comment